Love Covers ALL Transgressions

By: Taylor Johnson
 tjohnson photo
I was having coffee with one of my best friends, also a newlywed, and she was telling me how she struggles with keeping a mental list of all the little things her husband does wrong. And then one small thing will set her off because the list she is keeping in her head. When she was telling me this I responded, “I can relate to doing that!
Then this morning, I read 1 Corinthians 14:5 which says that love “…keeps no record of wrongs” and I stopped in my tracks.
I think keeping a tally of mistakes is something that many wives struggle with, and we need to realize that the Lord addressed this specifically in the Word. He knew it was in our nature to keep track of all the wrongs or mistakes of our husbands and loved ones, but that is not a representation of the unconditional love the Father has for us! When we ask for forgiveness, the Lord forgets our sins. He forgets them completely! If God, who is absolutely perfect in every way, will forget our sins, who are we to keep track of the sins or mistakes of our husbands? 1 Peter 4:8 “Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.”

As you celebrate Valentine’s day with your loved ones this weekend, remember to love, forgive, and forget as Christ does for each and everyone one us.

Leave a comment